Reviews of the timeshare industry by the owners...

Timeshare Owners Community

WestGate - Run as fast as you can!!!!

My wife and me purchased a time-share at the Westgate Resort at Park City, Utah in 2006. After a 4-hour ordeal that was to take 90 minutes, as many other complaints I've read about this resort have also gone through, we purchase a floating week unit in hopes to trade our week for other locations using Interval International. At the sales pitch we where told that we could trade our week each year if we wanted as a one bedroom on a float year or a two bedroom on a non-float year. In 2007 we did not use our week at all. When I recently called to exchange my week for this year I was told that I could not exchange it because I had not put my week in for an exchange for 2007. These are things you are not told during the pitch. Also as many other owners, when you go to use your week or flex time, there are never any rooms available. Rooms are not available even when you book ahead in advance 30 to 60 days. This has been the most frustrating experience I have ever gone through.

The reservation specialists are the rudest people I have ever tried to deal with. They are reluctant to give you a number that you can call and complain to. I have yet been able to find someone that will talk to me and try to make things good. This is the biggest scam I have ever seen. Funny, you don't see Worldmark or Trendwest on the complaint list.

I too wished I had done my homework on this place but in a high pressure sales environment you can't think about and make a decision the next day because it won't be there according to the many sales people they throw at you. I have wasted over $4,000 now that I could have used for a very nice vacation for my family, in return all I have is Westgate's excuses. Word to the wise; DON'T purchase a timeshare from Westgate!!



+1 #42 cassy 2012-07-19 19:55
Can anyone share how this affected their credit report. Westgate does not report payment history, but do they suddenly pop onto your report for the deed in lieu?
0 #41 Jessica Yang 2012-03-29 10:21
I don't know what happen but the fb account got deleted.
0 #40 larry 2012-03-15 16:32
Quoting Chris:
Hey Tom I am on the same boat and wondering if you were succseful on terminating your contract.

How can I cancelation the west gate contract?
0 #39 Renee 2011-10-23 17:45
just wondering if you were able to cancel membership, this is day 7 for us and just tried to cancel sent email no response by phone.
0 #38 jstmee 2011-10-16 14:19
amanda, did this work for you? we just got an offer letter for the warrantee in lieu of foreclosure?

0 #37 Larry 2011-09-01 04:05
We found an attorney Aldo Bartolone 407 730 3230 for a class Action tell him larry asked you to call.
0 #36 Amanda 2011-08-17 20:49
It's a huge scam. Our friggin taxes and upkeep costs DOUBLED each year. I almost fell on the floor when they tried to tell me that I needed to pay $1800 a year in payments then another $800 a year in fees/taxes for a 1 bedroomroom with NO master bath, no dining table and ONE 6" window. For $2600 I can take TWO weeks of vaca at a nice resort or hotelwith bigger accomodations. NO DEAL!
0 #35 Melissa 2011-08-16 04:29
Amanda, thanks for your feedback. I guess I didn't like to think that I'm walking away from my mistakes but this is really a scam. I really appreciate your encouragement and I'm going to stop paying NOW... we'll see what happens!
+2 #34 Amanda 2011-08-16 01:39
You know, if everyone that didn't want their timeshare anymore just stopped paying for it at the same time and waited out the forclosure process WG would probably go broke and belly up...which they deserve.
0 #33 Amanda 2011-08-16 01:37
We were never sent to an outside collections department however they have a special Westgate collections department and they called us weekly trying to make us feel bad about not paying our debt and threatening to ruin our credit. I did make the remark that they probably should have checked our credit to begin with because it couldn't get worse(which isn't true at all but what did she know,lol?) We owed $6,500 and had 8.5 years to go.
I can't see realestate going to collections...i t's either foreclosed on or deed in leiued not "collected" upon although WG calls are beyond annoying and they get nasty which is why you cut the conversation short and hang up as nicely as possible. Collections are for unsecured debt usually. Have you ever heard of a collection dept. calling about a car payment? Of course not...the just repo the car. It takes 181 days of non-payment before they do anything at all besides call you daily/weekly. We are in Florida and died in leiu laws may differ from state to state so you'll want to check that. Honestly, the last thing in the world I'd be stressing about is a stupid timeshare if I just lost my home. I'd just get mad and make them drag me through the whole court hearing(which they MUST do to forclose and you have a right to be there). I can't see them putting the special effort of a legal team, court costs and such for 7k.

Add comment

Security code


Follow us on Twitter


Please log-in to add your review!

Some of the companies reviewed include: