Reviews of the timeshare industry by the owners...

Timeshare Owners Community

Worldmark by Wyndham - Dishonest Sales Tactics

We made it clear during their sales pitch that we were not interested in their vacations for at five to ten years when our grandchildren would be old enough to enjoy them.

The representative told us we could accumulate points for some "super vacations" when they were old enough. I later learned that points could only be accumulated for two years, after which they were lost. I apparently signed a clause stipulating this at the time of purchase which was my fault for not reading it clearly enough but the representative knew our intentions and sold us the package anyway.

Now they will neither let us use the points the way we were promised nor refund our money.

Their claim of being committed to customer service is apparently bogus.



0 #10 Marc 2011-12-13 06:13
Let me know how this worked. We are having a time with WM about Travel Share and so far we have only managed to get scammed one more time. I note that Wyndham's BBB rating is "F" so I wonder if they actually give a rip if they are turned in - hell, it can't get any worse than F anyway!
0 #9 mike jones 2011-03-24 22:02
i just stopped paying and havent heard anything in the form of collections, lawsuits, credit reporting etc. It's been at least 2 -3 year's since i 've had the 150 bucks debited from my account
-1 #8 Liz 2010-08-27 22:58
I was stupid enough to buy one of these ownerships. Now, I do not know how to get out of this situation. Does anyone has any ideas? Has anyone been through this situation and found a way out?
+1 #7 Dora 2010-08-10 05:53
Today I had to endure two long hours of pressure selling tactics to convince my husband and that it was in our best interests to become members of their holiday club . It wasn't easy but we left without getting sucked into signing on the dotted line . We got our prize and ran out of there as fat as we could !
+2 #6 Amy McGuire 2010-06-24 01:11
It seems that I am one of their current victims as well. We have invested $2000 in our timeshare already and have only had it for 2 months. We were so excited to be "owners" of our vacation.. I hope to goodness we can get out of this! We have tried numerous times to reserve hotels and just so happens that there are not available rooms where we want to go when we want to go. This is the biggest rip-off ever! Do not buy a timeshare with Wyndham!!!!
0 #5 Sadie 2010-02-17 19:46
We have also been misled many times, the first few were smaller things and we disregarded them thinking we maybe just misunderstood. But we became very skeptical. This last time we asked every possible question around what they were promising and they had responses to everything so we took the bait once again. We have noticed that everytime we try to get a hold of the person who promised us whatever afterwards they conventiently don't work there anymore or the person on the phone has no idea who were talking about. Sometimes they even tell us "oh yeah thats part of the reason that guy isn't here anymore - he never answered his calls". We think they transfer people around every couple monthes and part of their M.O. Huge liars!!! Huge multimillion dollar scam!!!!! Notice how often the name changes on your auto payments - they must change their name everytime there is a big law suit!

Sadie & Nick
+1 #4 Joseph Beech 2009-08-06 19:27
Went to Wyndham Shawnee in the Pocono's for a time share sale. Went through the entire sale and said no, then the end sale came and a closer, Nicole Dangelo, to make us the last offer.
"Today only",she said, "You can buy our Leisureplan membership."
This membership, she explained, is only $2,400 and gives you the opportunity to try out Wyndahm resorts, but, she added, there is a cancelation clause that says you can cancle at any time by simply calling an 800 number. She showed us the clause and there it was in black and white

Right to cancel membership. Member has the right to terminate this agreement at any time by calling 1800-251-8736.

She then went on to say how we could book a vacation, then cancel the membership and that many people are doing it. She said the company just wants us to try it out. We only needed to give them $200 deposit, then make six payments for a total of $800 and then we could cancel at any time and have a wonderful vacation also!!!!! We could not believe this was possible so asked her to repeat the offer. She told us the same thing again...cancel after 6 months...still get vacation...we just want you to try it.

Sounded great so my wife and I signed on on 12/27/08

Six months went by and I asked to cancel the membership. Well, Mr. Beech they tell me you may cancel the Leisureplan agreement, but you are not allowed to cancle the VIP membership which requires you to pay 100 every month for 2 years. The VIP agreement has a 7 day cancelation policy. I dig through paper word and there it is another contract.

Seems as though there are two(2) contracts we signed that day. One, the Leisure Plan, was a $49 a year membership to a vacation club which I could cancel at any time. The other was a VIP menbership that cost $2,400 and had only a 7 day window for cancelation.
I''m wondering if this happened to any other people, especially the visitors to the Shawnee resort.

Needless to say, we are extremely upset about this immoral selling practice. We will report you to the Better Business Bureau and find a place to post our experience on-line so others are not cheated as we were.

joe beech
philadelphia pa
+1 #3 Guest 2009-07-20 03:59
Despite checking and rechecking I have been scammed by wyndham. Im not paying them a cent more Ill go bankrupt rather than pay............ If I go bankrupt then Ill become dependant on the state for paying me my benefit thus no one wins why is this company still running?
0 #2 B & J 2009-06-12 17:05
WorldMark has ripped us off as well. They promised a credit card with 2,500 value. This would pay for they first year of our point increase. They never sent the card and when we called to ask about it, they replied, they never said this was the case. Due to the fact that they were misleading we became behind in our payments and can't pay the dues. They have done so many other conartist tactics that it too much to mention. But this is the last straw that cost our membership. They are RIP OFFS do not buy into there timeshare.
0 #1 Guest 2009-04-20 13:51
Follow up: This company somehow has an A- rating with the Better Business Bureau and apparently wants to keep it that way. I filed a complaint with the BBB and after much stonewalling and "We did nothing wrong" protestations, they finally out of "good will" canceled our contract and refunded our money.

Add comment

Security code


Follow us on Twitter


Please log-in to add your review!

Some of the companies reviewed include: